My friend Kelly (otherwise known as Mrs. Toes) is participating in a “Blog Every Day in May” challenge and asked me to join her. At first, I was a bit hesitant. It’s a goal for me to write more regularly, but I tend to do better when I’m inspired to do so. I find it harder to write in response to a question or a topic and don’t always like the results. After giving it some thought, I’m going to give it a try. If the posts I write aren’t quite up to snuff, I won’t share them with you. How’s that?

Here’s the other catch – today is May 8 … which means I am already more than a week behind. So we’ll do some abbreviated catch-up – blogging in fast-motion, if you will.

DAY ONE – The story of your life in 250 words or less

I started off on a good foot, showing up a day before I was expected for my parents and older brother. Surprisingly, I was a quiet baby, who waited until I could form sentences to speak. Both events marked the last times I’d be early or quiet.
My first 17 years were spent in New York; the next 17, I lived in five different states. I was the last kid in my district to skip a grade (first) and was always one of the smallest in my class. Growing up, I was a tomboy who hated combing her hair and wanted to do everything her brother did. I was the only girl on my little league team. You’d never find me without a book in my hand – I read at the dinner table, in the bathtub and after the lights were out at night.
By high school graduation, I was finally over five feet tall and would wear a dress without kicking and screaming. I went to school in Georgia and majored in advertising because I wasn’t sure what I wanted to do and it required minimal math.
Since then, I’ve lived in three more states and forged a colorful career path that only I quite understand. Almost two years ago, my nephew was born and he gives me a reason to smile every day.
Today, I’m in Arizona, missing the ocean, always wondering what’s next. Always thankful for my family, friends and the opportunities I have been given.

I’m going to skip day two (Educate us on something you know a lot about or are good at. Take any approach you’d like (serious and educational or funny and sarcastic) because I honestly can’t think of something to write about. And no, this isn’t me being self-deprecating. I’m knowledgeable about plenty of things; I just don’t think any of them would come across as interesting in this space.

Stay tuned – I’m as curious as you are to see how this blogging experiment will turn out.

blogeverday

