So it’s 9 p.m. and I can barely see straight – that’s what happens after far too many hours of staring at a computer screen. Nonetheless, a challenge is a challenge and I will blog every day in May. ;)

Today’s Topic: The thing(s) you’re most afraid of

I knew this post was coming and I considered skipping it, solely because I had way too many ideas and most of them seemed too personal for this space. While I’ve certainly been open and honest on my blog, I try not to make it a dumping ground for my bad days or a personal journal … and that’s where I could see this post going.

After giving it (too) much thought, I realized there is one overarching thread throughout my life: the fear that I’m always making the wrong decision. Far too much of my time is spent reflecting on choices I’ve made and second-guessing myself. Whether it is what I said to someone, my career path, my relationships, how I spend my spare time – I can always convince myself that the other option would probably have been the better one.

I’m afraid to trust myself.

While I don’t think I’ve necessarily made bad decisions along the way, I can’t help but wonder if my life could have turned out differently. What I need to remind myself is that different is not always better.

 

blogeverday

