“Be the change you wish to see in the world,” is the quote inscribed on one of my favorite pieces of jewelry.

If asked to choose my life’s motto, it is likely that would be it. In simpler terms, be the person that you hope and expect others to be.

Many days, I doubt the goodness of humanity. I see people push and shove to get on a crowded subway; I witness people acting disrespectful towards each other. And I feel frustrated. Frustrated and sad.

Last week, I watched a blind man walking down the platform at the 59th Street station, waiting for the 6 train. While I am always willing to give up my seat for a child, an elderly, pregnant or handicapped person, I have to admit that what I saw next would never have crossed my mind.

A young man, most likely in his 20s, approached the blind man and asked him where he was headed. Guiding the blind man by the arm, he led him to the front of the train and helped him board.

Instantly, I felt better about humanity than I had in a long time. It was such a simple gesture, yet so impactful. It was truly the best demonstration of showing people how to be that person, the one who changes the world.

I leave you with a quote by Father Mychal Judge, someone whose life has inspired me in ways I could never begin to describe – “Life is complicated. Remember the good things that you do. Keep thinking about that. Keep building on that and you’ll come to an answer.”

And be the change you wish to see in the world.

