99% of my television watching is off the DVR. If the DVR didn’t exist, I most likely wouldn’t watch TV. Case in point, I lived without cable (I had about three stations) at one time when I lived in Charleston. Granted, I managed to suck my friend Brad into watching “Gilmore Girls” on a weekly basis at his house (shh … don’t tell anyone), but I barely missed having TV.

My DVR roster looks something like this: Life Unexpected, 16 and Pregnant, One Tree Hill, How I Met Your Mother, The Hills, Glee, Rescue Me, Entourage, Army Wives, Gossip Girl and Intervention. As I always say – if your show involves a pregnant teenager or someone on drugs, I am probably watching.

I pick up a lot of shows in their second season. Usually, one of my shows goes off the air finally and then I have to find something new to replace it. And by that point, there is significant buzz about another show, usually meant for 14-year-old girls, that I will become a fan of.

Last week, I was digging around HBO OnDemand when I stumbled upon “How to Make It in America,” which is supposedly being touted as the next “Entourage.” I discovered “Entourage” late in the game, most likely because I didn’t have HBO – but I loved it. Minus the episodes involving them shooting the indie movie in Mexico, I’ve always enjoyed “Entourage.” I think it is well-written, funny, and honestly, just fun and slightly escapist.

So with eight episodes in the OnDemand queue, I started watching “How to Make It in America.”

New York City is disgusting on television shows.

Okay – so I am legitimately excited that “The Hills” is back for its last season, even’ though the last season was blatantly scripted garbage. Watching “The Hills” (and before that, “Laguna Beach”) gives you the impression that Los Angeles is bea-u-tiful.

Now I am not completely delusional. I know that there are a lot of really gross places in and around LA. I know not everyone drives a convertible and that most 20-somethings don’t have awesome Spanish-style homes with inground pools and backyard firepits. But even the restaurants and boutiques make LA look fabulous on shows like “The Hills” and “Entourage.”

Everything in Southern California is sunshine and flip flops.

Cut to “The City” and “How to Make It in America” …

New York is a perpetually cloudy, graffiti covered garbage dump where everyone lives in apartments the size of shoeboxes.

When “The City” debuted on MTV, I thought to myself, Los Angeles isn’t all that pretty, all the time. I was sure that “The City” could find some redeeming stuff to put on-screen.

Aside from the fact that the show flat-out sucked, it reminded me of everything “un-fun” about New York. It seemed like they were always working, unlike on “The Hills” and the places they went out to didn’t seem that cool or nice, either. It just seemed like a bad recap of what I see everyday, but with more expensive clothes and fancier apartments.

Call it escapism, but I want to see sunshine on my television shows. I want to see beaches, convertibles and people with tans. Otherwise, I might as well walk down the block, check out some gang tags on the side of a building and save the $140 I send to Time Warner each month.

