Day 2

I have been told that when you don’t sleep well, that all of your waking thoughts become consumed by it.

I agree – sleep rules my life.

I was probably the only incoming college freshman who didn’t regularly stay up late. In high school, my mom used to get up for work at 5 a.m., and while I wasn’t getting up that early, I somehow adopted her 10 p.m. bedtime. My body just seemed to know when 10 p.m. rolled around.

It didn’t take long for that to change. One of the best things about college was structuring my schedule to best suit me. I preferred to not have any classes before 10 a.m. and I would be done at 2 p.m. After a short lunch break, I’d head to work for a few hours. I didn’t have any trouble sleeping, though, and I could push myself to stay up late and still get up for class the next day.

Fast forward: I have battled insomnia to a varying degree for the past ten years. I get the best sleep when I force myself to stay on a schedule – which means going to bed unreasonably early on weeknights. Or at least attempting to. Once I get off schedule (i.e. on vacation), it takes weeks to get me back to that place. When I am overtired, I get spacey and have a hard time focusing. In other words, I hate to be tired on a workday.

I look forward to the weekend because I know I can sleep in. I’ve never been a “sleep ’til 2 p.m.” type of person, but I can, once I fall asleep, go down for a solid 14 hours on a Sunday. The problem is I am probably oversleeping and I waste a good part of the day.

So I decided to set my alarm today. On a Saturday.

(Before I make this sound more industrious than it actually was, I will point out that I set it for 9 a.m.)

But I set an alarm and began my Saturday at a decent hour, rather than wasting the morning in bed.  I woke up feeling rested, and at 7 p.m., I don’t feel like I lost the day. Setting the idea in my head that there was a reason to get up at a decent hour set a positive pace for the day.

Share

