Day 3

In fall of 2005, just a few months after moving back to New York, I was in a bar in Clemson, S.C..  Upon preparing a list of what everyone at our table wanted, I approached the bar with $40. I came back with a bucket of beer, a mixed drink, a Diet Coke … and more than $20 in change.

When I moved back to New York, it didn’t take long for me to regain the mindset that everything would be expensive, including drinks. $7 for a bottle of beer, $9 for a sandwich at lunch, $40 for a concert ticket ($30 of that price = “fees”), $125 for a decent ticket at a sporting event. Needless to say, my attendance at special events is slim; they just aren’t within my budget.

A friend assembled a surprise party for her boyfriend’s 28th birthday, to take place at Yankee Stadium. Each of us paid roughly $35 for our ticket in the bleachers (actual photo above). Mind you, there are SINGLE game tickets at Yankee Stadium which cost more than my rent. They also sell $5 tickets.

I remember when I worked in minor league baseball, being told that the majority of fans who attend games probably don’t know what inning it is, what the score is or who the opposing team is. They are simply there to enjoy the experience and hopefully, the company of the people they came with.

Yes, it’s pretty spectacular to sit on the first base line and be a part of the game. But it’s also fun to sit in the cheap seats with your friends on a 100 degree day, and realize that you spent more on beer in the first two innings than you did on your ticket.

Sometimes, the cheap seats aren’t so bad after all.

Share

