Day 5

While rooting through my Gmail inbox the other morning, I noticed that an author I enjoy, Rob Sheffield, was going to be speaking at Borders about his new book, “Talking to Girls About Duran Duran: One Young Man’s Quest for True Love and a Cooler Haircut.” Surprisingly, as much as I love to read and write, I have  only attended one book signing/presentation in my life. (And to keep this story interesting, it was James Frey launching “My Friend Leonard” – probably a week later the “A Million Little Pieces” scandal hit.)

So me being me, I came to work prepared to go to the Rob Sheffield event; I packed jeans to change into and remembered my 33% off coupon to buy the book. Then, just before 2 p.m., my brother e-mailed me. He was the lucky recipient of two tickets to the Yankees vs. Angels game that night.

Not just any tickets.

15th row seats, directly in line with third base.

Okay. I feel a tad guilty being so excited about this, just after extolling the value of the “cheap seat experience,” but wow.

And with that came a very un-Jen-like shift in plans – I was going to the Yankees game.

The view was amazing (photo above), the crowd was exceedingly entertaining, I spent some rare quality time with my brother and Chan Ho Park got his era below a 6.0.

Share

