My diploma states I have my Bachelors degree in Journalism, with a major in advertising and a minor in sociology.

Fact: I majored in advertising, as opposed to marketing, because I didn’t want to take high-level mathematics classes. (By high-level, I mean calculus)

Fact: I didn’t intend to have a minor. I was meeting with my academic advisor when she let me know I had taken enough sociology classes to earn one.

My coursework shows that I more or less have a degree in electives – jack of many trades, master of none. Before each semester, I would find out which requirements I had to fulfill and then sought out classes with interesting titles that likely wouldn’t demand much work on my part. (For the purpose of this blog, I am also including a few gems I took before college. Trust me – my high school education didn’t prepare me for much.)

With no further adieu (and in no particular order) are the top 10 most useless classes I have ever taken.

10. High school gym
I am not questioning the validity of physical education – actually, I think it is quite important. The “sports” I played, however, were anything but physical. Two of my personal favorites included juggling and powerwalking. The most valuable lesson? Don’t take 9th period swimming at a school where most of the girls have big hair – the pool will be covered in hairspray residue by lunchtime.

9. Careers (taken for a half of a year in seventh grade, a half of a year in eighth)
In the class was titled “Careers” (formerly known as Home Economics), we supposedly learned to cook one year and to sew, the other. Neither of those skills have benefited my “career” one bit.

8. Technology (taken opposite Careers in junior high)
Technology was a clever disguise for “wood shop.” I learned how to make a bookcover out of a paper grocery bag and a rubber-band powered car.

7. Health and Wellness (multiple times)
I seriously think I took some iteration of health and wellness five times between junior high and college. I enjoy learning about street drugs that no one really takes, eating disorders and outdated nutritional guidelines.

6. Insects in Our Environment (sophomore year of college)
I think I was required to take three science courses in college. My primary objective, as I hadn’t taken science since 10th grade, was to avoid chemistry, biology and physics. Along with the entire UGA football team, I learned about brown recluse spiders and watched “Joe’s Apartment.” Sadly, I got a B in this class, which was a supposed easy A.

5. Punishment in Society (senior year of college)
Who wouldn’t take this class, judging by the name of it? It was a sociology class entirely dedicated to how criminals have been punished throughout history. I barely remember taking this class – it may have been my last semester.

4. Math for Elementary School Teachers (freshman year of college)
I took two different levels of this course and got Cs in both. What this tells me? I can’t do elementary school math, let alone teach it.

3. Sociology of Culture (sophomore year of college)
This was, by far, one of my favorite classes ever. I wrote a 10-page paper about “Willy Wonka & The Chocolate Factory” for it. I still have the “textbook,” which was one of those crazy handbound books the teacher created from photocopies. I learned why people have lawn flamingoes and like professional wrestling.

2. Fitness for Life Swimming (sophomore year of college)
This satisfied my gym credit in college with one class, rather than two. At the time, I was lifeguarding and was a pretty solid swimmer. I also had a really hot teacher for this class. I could effectively do the workout intended for people who didn’t know how to swim (generally a few laps) and sit on the side of the pool for the rest of class.

1. Coaching Baseball (junior year of college? maybe?)
This one is actually the big winner, although I later learned I should have taken Coaching Basketball. One of the exam questions in that course? “How many points is a three-point shot worth?”

Honorable mentions: Appreciation of Visual Arts, Appreciation of Theatre, Career and Lifeplanning, Weather and Climate, Marine Environments, Sociology of Sports, Communication in Human Society

“We’re on a road to nowhere, come on inside.
Takin’ that ride to nowhere, we’ll take that ride.”
– “Road to Nowhere”
Talking Heads 

