What I'll be eating for the next month

Sad but true, it’s my last official three-day weekend until Memorial Day. And while I was grateful to have a good friend in town for a shenanigan-filled time, I realized this morning that it’s time to get back to reality, to the routines that help me keep it together.

First and foremost (and you’ve heard me mention this before), I’m dependent on a reasonably predictable sleep schedule. More or less, I need to get to sleep and wake up at roughly the same time each day. On the weekends, I tend to stay up/sleep in a bit later, but try the best I can to not throw myself completely off. These past few nights/days have pretty much been the opposite of that. I’ve been up way too late most every night and then I sleep in. Worse than that, it hasn’t been good sleep; it’s been the type of sleep that follows eating-drinking-being super sociable. When I don’t sleep well, the rest of my day tends to fall into a vat of non-productivity.

For the past two months, I’ve been back on track when it comes to working out. My body feels better, my mind is clearer and my energy increases. Like most people, I have to force myself to take the time to exercise, but once I start, I’m always glad I did. This weekend, I only managed to work out one day out of three. Needless to say, when I finish this post, I’m off to the gym.

Another one of my goals this year is to read more. Growing up, I was a voracious reader, and over the past decade, I’ve read less than I’d like to. I’m more than halfway through my most recent selection, Mildred Pierce, and I look forward to picking it back up tonight. I’ve been told that reading is supposed to be a good way to quiet my head before I go to sleep and I guarantee it’s a better idea than texting while half-asleep.

As you can see from the carb-laden photo, I hosted a macaroni and cheese party last night. More than a dozen of my friends brought their special pasta creations and some tasty wine and beer as accompaniments. It was an awesome night – good people, delicious food and drinks and plenty of laughs. Today, I’ve got to buckle down and clean this place back up. Time to make a trip (or two) to the recycling bin with all of the bottles and cans. And after I make it look like a normal and decent apartment again, I still have to catch up on laundry and prepare for the week ahead.

Needless to say, it was a pretty terrific weekend. And sometimes to have the joy of experiences, you have to be willing to bend your routine. But I can’t deny the benefits of structure – with it, I’m more balanced and my actions reflect this mindset.

